Minutes of the Meeting of the IQA Committee Saturday, 1st February 2025, 10:00 am, Board Room, ICT Mumbai

Vice Chancellor – Chairperson	Prof. A. B. Pandit	Present
Dean IQA – Member Secretary	Prof. Ashwin W. Patwardhan	Present
Associate Dean IQA	Prof. C. S. Mathpati	Present
Director, ICT-MARJ or nominee	Dr. Kapil Sagrolikar	Present
Director, ICT-IOC BBS, or nominee	Dr. A. K. Sahoo	Present
	Dr. Sushma Chakraborty	Present
Three to Fight Teachers to represent	Dr. Shraeddha Tiwari	
Three to Eight Teachers to represent		Present
all levels	Dr. Neetu Jha	Present
	Dr. Paresh Salame	Present
	Dr. Nitin Arote	Granted Leave of absence
	Dr. Satyajit Saha	Present
	Dr. Sandeep More	Granted Leave of absence
	Dr. Manju Sharma	Present
Member from Management	Prof. M. K. Tiwari	Absent
Registrar	Prof. B. F. Jogi	Absent
Dean AP	Prof. Parag Gogate	Present
COE	Prof. P. D. Vaidya	Granted Leave of absence
One nominee each from the Local	Mr. V. Y. Sane	Present
Society/Trust, Students and Alumni	General Secretary (GS) – TA	Absent
One nominee each from the	Mr. N. S. Lele	Absent
Employer/Industrialists/Stakeholders	Dr. U. Parasu Veera	Present
	Dr. Deepak Bapat	Present
Nodal Officer	Dr. Ashwin Mohan	Absent

(1) A new committee was appointed from 1st Jan 2025 till 31st Dec 2027. The meeting began with a welcome and introduction of all the members of the committee.

- (2) Professor Ashwin W. Patwardhan (AWP) informed about all the hard work carried out by the previous IQA committee and in particular Dr. Ashwin Mohan, Dr. Manju Sharma and the previous Dean IQAC, towards completing all the backlog of AQAR, submitting the SAR for NAAC and the NAAC evaluation. The members expressed gratitude for all their efforts throughout the previous 3 years.
- (3) AWP presented the status of activities of the previous year:

He briefed the members about the importance of IQAC its role and functions.

He showed a draft of the ICT's Quality Policy, which will be finalized in the coming weeks. The Quality policy would be displayed at prominent places in the Institute.

He briefed about the significant changes in the academic activities of the ICT, such as NEP implementation that began from the academic year from 2023 – 2024 for the UG programs and 2022 – 2023 onwards for MSc programs. Highlights of the NEP such as (i) multidisciplinary minor, (ii) Indian Knowledge system (IKS), (iii) ability and skill enhancement courses, (iv) value enhancement courses, (v) research and honors degree, etc. and their contribution to the overall degree were discussed.

A new Management Information System, Samarth e-Gov, is being implemented in the Institute. The status of implementation of various modules was informed to the members.

The Annual Reports of the Institute need to be made available. Efforts are ongoing to prepare the pending annual reports from 2020 – 20201 onwards.

An update on the upcoming NBA accreditations M Tech Pharm Biotech, B Tech and M Tech dyestuff technology and B Tech Fibres and textile processing technology was given.

Update on NAAC was shared.

AWP informed that the data has been submitted for NIRF 2025.

- (4) AWP presented an analysis of the marks received by the Institute under various categories. Explanations were provided for each sub-category and its importance to the total score. The committee was informed that the performance of the Institute has been fairly consistent over the last few years, as judged by the marks received under various categories.
- (5) Members were briefed about the new activities to be taken up in the coming year, such as organizing quality improvement workshops. Meetings with HoDs and faculty to creates quality awareness and departmental level quality improvement initiatives would be conducted.
- (6) As a quality improvement initiative, ICT has decided to participate in the Global Initiative of Academic Networks (GIAN). A request has been sent to the national coordinator of GIAN.

- (7) Dr. ParasuVeera suggested that a 360 degree feedback system needs to be evolved. AWP informed that teachers annually submit 360 degree feedback. Feedback from employers, students, and alumni as stakeholders is being collected. Dr. ParasuVeera pointed out that this feedback should translate into improvement in teaching. AWP agreed that efforts would be made towards this.
- (8) Dr. Sahoo pointed out that a 3 member team could be set-up to look at each of the five parameters of NIRF. Each team could look at quality management related to each aspect.
- (9) Prof. Parag made the following points: (i) the NIRF data collection could be done on a monthly or twice a month basis rather than yearly basis so that data could be collected effectively, (ii) A comparison of the NIRF score of top institutes like IITB, IITM can be made with ICT score to understand better the different aspects of each score. AWP informed that analysis of this type has started. (iii) Each Department can organize workshops for industry. This will not only generate funds but also improve the score under different categories. The Vice Chancellor emphasized that this will also improve peer perception and improve the score in that category. (iv) NIRF rank, not just the score is also important since many funding agencies like DST give funding only if the rank is within a certain number like 50 or 100. (v) The tuition fees collected from the students should also be considered in expenditure, since the Institute expenses are met from the fees. AWP informed that NIRF considers specific heads under which expenditure is considered. Further that, the committee considers all the expenditure, and the committee leaves no stone unturned to collect all the data and represent it properly.
- (10)VC suggested that each person can keep an academic diary so that at the end of the year, some data is not missed out.
- (11)Dr. Deepak Bapat pointed out that some of the degree programs need to be better aligned to the industrial needs. Also, the educational background of the students need to be better aligned to the intended outcome of the programs.
- (12)The Vice Chancellor once again expressed gratitude and thanks to the outgoing committee and best wishes to the new team on the path towards quality improvement. The meeting ended with a vote of thanks to the Chair and all the members for their participation.



Member Secretary